South Asian Studies


The South Asia Studies is an interdisciplinary effort that focuses on the cultures, politics, history, arts, and current events of South Asia (the nations of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka).  Located in the Moynihan Institute of Global Affairs, the South Asia Center is a National Resource Center for South Asia, funded by the U. S. Department of Education, in a consortium with Cornell University.


Program Director
Carol Babiracki
Director of South Asian Studies
308 K Bowne Hall
(315) 443-1716
cmbabira@syr.edu
Biographical Page Link


Faculty
NameTitlePhoneEmailOffice
Shobha Bhatia Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering 315-443-3352skbhatia@syr.edu151 Link Hall
Tej BhatiaProfessor,
Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
315.443.5374tkbhatia@syr.edu312 HB Crouse Hall
Himika BhattacharyaAssociate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies,
Women's and Gender Studies
315.443.0283hbhattac@syr.edu309 Sims Hall
Mehrzad Boroujerdi Associate Professor, Political Science315-443-5877mboroujerdi@maxwell.syr.edu 100 Eggers Hall
Richard Breyer Professor, Television, Radio and Film 315-443-9249rlbreyer@syr.edu 362 Newhouse 2
Tom Brutsaert Associate Professor and Chair, School of Education315-443-9697tdbrutsa@syr.edu201 Women's Building
Gareth FisherAssociate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies,
Religion
315.443.5914gfisher@syr.edu505 Hall of Languages
Rashmi Gangamma Assistant Professor, Falk Marriage & Family Therapy315-443-9178rgangamm@syr.edu1045 James Street
Tula Goenka Associate Professor, Television, Radio and Film 315-443-3376tgoenka@syr.eduRm. 445 Newhouse 3
Guy GolanAssociate Professor, Public Relationsgjgolan@syr.eduRm. 455 Newhouse 3
Ann Grodzins GoldThomas J. Watson Professor,
Religion
315.443.5717aggold@syr.edu507 Hall of Languages
Roger HallasAssociate Professor,
English
315.443.4947rhallas@syr.edu433 Hall of Languages
Tazim R. KassamAssociate Professor,
Religion
315.443.3861tkassam@syr.edu501 Hall of Languages
Radha Kumar Assistant Professor, History 315-443-5875rkuma100@syr.edu 514 Eggers Hall
Prema Ann Kurien Professor, Sociology315-443-2346pkurien@syr.edu302 Maxwell Hall
Devashish Mitra Professor, Economics 315-443-6143dmitra@syr.edu110 Eggers Hall
Chandra Talpade MohantyProfessor,
Women's and Gender Studies
315.443.6541ctmohant@syr.edu340E Sims Hall
Sudha RajInstructor315-443-2556sraj@syr.edu 426 Ostrom Avenue, Room 117
S.P. Raj Distinguished Professor of Marketing315-443-3147spraj@syr.edu721 University Avenue, Room 638
Kamala RamadossAssociate Professor315-443-1639kramados@syr.edu144 E White Hall
Romita Ray (Kapoor)Associate Professor,
Art and Music Histories
315.443.5030rray@syr.edu308 G Bowne Hall
Lars Rodseth Associate Professor of Anthropology315-443-9710rodseth@syr.edu516 Eggers Hall
Jaipaul Roopnarine Director, Graduate Program in Child and Family Studies315-443-4586jroopnar@syr.edu112 Slocum Hall
Anoop Sadanandan Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science315-443-1749asadanan@syr.edu 336 Eggers Hall
Yuksel Sezgin Assistant Professor, Political Science315-443-4431 ysezgin@maxwell.syr.edu100 Eggers Hall
Farhana Sultana Associate Professor, Department of Geography315-443-5633sultanaf@syr.edu144 Eggers Hall
Larry Schroeder Emeritus Professor, Public Administration315-443-2596ldschroe@maxwell.syr.edu334 Eggers Hall
Cecilia Van Hollen Associate Professor, Anthropology315-443-5102cvanholl@maxwell.syr.edu 331 Eggers Hall
Susan WadleyFord-Maxwell Professor of South Asian Studies315-443-4198sswadley@syr.edu327 Eggers Hall
Joanne Punzo WaghorneProfessor,
Religion
315.443.5715jpwaghor@syr.edu521 Hall of Languages
Corri ZoliINSCT Director of Research/Research Assistant Professor315-443-4523cbzoli@syr.edu300 J Dineen Hall

Getting Started

South Asian Studies

Offerings:minor


South Asian Studies
346 Eggers Hall
Phone: 315-443-2553
Fax: 315-443-9085
Email: 
southasia@maxwell.syr.edu
 
View  Program Details

Learn More

Bachelor of Arts BA
Bachelor of Science BS
Master of Arts MA
Master of Science MS
Education/Teacher Prep MS
Doctor of Philosophy PhD
Minor m
Certificate C